The Isle of Wight Society

Conservation Awards


TO SUBMIT AN ENTRY  CLICK  (read more) below 



The Isle of Wight Society Conservation Awards 2024

The Award Scheme is for the recognition of good building work that contributes to the character of the Island. We share the presentation event with RIBA Isle of Wight and CPRE who present their Good Lighting Award.

Our aims are to encourage a high standard of planning, architecture, and the conservation of buildings and their setting on the Island. Entries will be judged on the quality of design and the work overall and also the visual impact on the environment.

The RIBA IOW Architects Design Awards

The RIBA IOW Branch has run awards that promote good building design on the Island. Awards are presented in tandem with the Isle of Wight Society Conservation Awards. The quality of new build, alterations and extensions on the Island is going from strength to strength. The branch is keen to focus public attention on what makes good, modern design and to showcase excellence in local architecture to the community.

The RIBA IOW New Build Award, Both RIBA IOW and the Isle of Wight Society are
looking for new build projects on the Island which are both innovative and of exceptional design.

The scope of both the IWS and RIBA awards has been broadened and projects completed within the last 5 years are eligible.

Anyone undertaking renovation work or environmental conservation on a building project will be considered.

The competition is open to private individuals, corporate bodies, churches and other communities. It embraces small and large scale works raging from staircases and fountains to Roman excavations, fortifications and landscaping.

Recognition is awarded for a restoration project, a rebuild, an extension to an existing building of architectural merit, a completely new property or development or any combination of these.

Nominations are accepted between the beginning of January and March 1st. The projects will be judged on 7th April 2024.

The Conservation Awards presentation will take place on the evening of Thursday 27th June at Northwood House, Cowes - 6pm for 7pm start.

Presentation of Awards by the Lord Lieutenant, Mrs Susie Sheldon.

Dress:- Black Tie or Lounge Suit

Developers/Owners are invited to submit comprehensive details of their project to be considered for an award with photographs of 'before', 'during', and 'after' the completion of the work.

Entries projects must be completed by the end of December 2023. 

Two further Awards bequested by former members of the Isle of Wight Society are:

The Jo Mitchell Award, is awarded for landscaping, which fits in with a conservation project.

The Sybil Bodycomb Award, is for small conservation projects which do not have to be visible to the public eye, but must be in the true sense of conservation.

 The judges' decision must be accepted as final and no member of the Society is empowered to enter into any comment. Any commercial use of a nomination before the judges' decision is made known may disqualify the entry.

The Awards comprise of a plaque for the building owner and certificates for the Architect and contractor plus Certificates of Merit for runners up which will be given at the Awards Ceremony.



Conservation Awards 2016

Projects finished in 2015 and judged in 2016


Conservation Awards 2015

Projects finished in 2014 and judged in 2015


Isle of Wight Society
East Cowes Heritage Centre, 8 Clarence Road
East Cowes, PO32 6EP

Tel: +44 (0) 1983 280310

Website design by Netguides